top of page
  • Writer's pictureDonna Porter

Stress-free Pie Crusts: Just in time for the holidays . . .

Updated: Oct 14, 2023

It's that time again!


Baking season is just around the corner.



And just what are some of my favorite things to bake this time of the year?


Pies.


Pecan pie. Buttermilk pie. Jeff Davis pie.


Pies. Pies. Pies.


I might even throw some alligator pie in there! (That's a tale for another day!)


And along with that pie, another of my favorite things in the world is a homemade pie crust. Although, I will admit that I have trouble making a single pie crust.


I will also admit that the pie crusts at Aldi's are a very, very good substitute when in a pinch, and I will oftentimes grab those in a pinch.


We must have a pie. Stress cannot exist in the presence of a pie. – David Mamet, Boston Marriage - Acting Edition

Still, this time of year, I generally pull out my frozen pie crust bulk recipe, take a half-hour to 45 minutes out of my day to make the pie crusts, then toss them into the freezer for pie-making season.


This recipe makes 20-25 patties, but I have successfully, and quite often, halved the recipe for 10-15 patties.


Regardless of the number you make, these crusts come out perfect and flakey every time, and I save myself that long step of making a pie crust when I get ready to bake.



Download the pic above for use or for printing!


Bake away!


These are great for any kind of pie crusts - from pies, to tarts, to pot pies, cinnamon sticks, cobblers, and more! Even better, they are handy and ready to use when you are ready to bake and cook, so there is no need to spend time making a crust.


Having the crusts at the ready, I will admit, is my favorite part, especially when the holidays are busy, life is a whirlwind, and you want good old-fashioned home cooking!


After all, it's your house and your story, and there is no better way to write chapters than filling the house with the good smells of holiday foods!





Donna Hechler Porter is a real estate agent with Keller Williams Elite Realty in Baytown, Texas. An educator, a published author, and an arm-chair historian, Donna runs a small publishing business in addition to educating people about how to build future wealth through home ownership. Feel free to contact Donna at dhporter@kw.com.





bottom of page